[Android] ADB is unabled to connect my China phone – HiSense U950 (aka HiSense F1)

That was crazy time !

I just bought a cheap android phone for my incoming projects. Yes, budget was my very first issue that I could not bought expensive phone such as Samsung Galaxy S3, or Note 2 (just my dream) . So I decided to buy a cheap phone – Hisense F1, which price is arround 110 usd. My Android development experience takes me to this site, then download the USB driver. But no look, the link is just … broken, and it seems about the smart TV product, not smartphone !!!

A guy from tinhte.vn just posted some stuff rooting this phone, so I could found the link to download its driver.  So I thought just downloading driver, then everything would work well as I did with my HTC Cha Cha or Motorola Droid before.  Opening the adb and check connection

C:\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb kill-server
C:\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb start-server
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
OK
* daemon started successfully *
C:\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb devices
List of devices attached

The list was just empty !!!

I know the most problems that ADB could not see the device is driver compatible, but Windows shows me that driver has been installed correctly ! Dammit …   So I came back to Android development site, read carefully about “Hardware devices” and noticed on USB Vendor ID. Just remembering that the last time I installed driver for HTC Cha Cha,  adb_usb.ini file (C:\Users\<my user name>\.android\adb_usb.ini ) has been changed for some reason, and it contains USB Vendor ID list.

# ANDROID 3RD PARTY USB VENDOR ID LIST -- DO NOT EDIT.
# USE 'android update adb' TO GENERATE.
# 1 USB VENDOR ID PER LINE.
0x0502
0x05C6
0x0BB4
0x0FCE
0x1004
0x18D1
0x19D2
0x22B8

Yes, I did not contain the vendor ID for Hisence phones !

So I just added “0x109b” at the ending of file and restarted the ADB

C:\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb kill-server
C:\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb devices
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
OK
* daemon started successfully *
List of devices attached 
u950 device

Now, ADB can see my device …

 

 

9 thoughts on “[Android] ADB is unabled to connect my China phone – HiSense U950 (aka HiSense F1)

  1. I’m trying to understand how to root this device, but all the resources are in chinese, vietnamese and I speak spanish and understand english. Would you please write a tutorial on how to root this device?

    Thanks

    • I have not worked on “rooting” this device, so I could not write a tutorial now. But I can translate all the steps from tinhte.vn, so you can work arround.

      1. You need to download this tool http://www.mediafire.com/download/lvuabqsa9cjtg7j/U950_OneKey_Recovery.zip, then extract the zip file. You can see 6 files such as fastboot, adb …

      2. Go to “System settings/Developer settings” and check to “USB Debugging”. Now connect the phone to PC/Laptop.

      3. Execute adb, then executing fastboot … then executing “+—+-¦++dRecovery.bat”. When you see the green/blue panel appears, press ENTER 3 times. Then you should see “WAITING FOR DEVICE” message.

      4. Unplug the phone from PC/Laptop, but do not turn off the green/blue panel on PC/Laptop. Turn off your phone now.

      5. Press and hold the volumn+ button, press the Power button. The phone will appear a black screen with a message WELCOME TO FASTBOOT

      6. Connect the phone to PC/Laptop. The PC/Laptop should detect the phone automatically, and sound “beep” to indicate phone detected. From the blue/green panel on PC/Laptop, press ENTER and the phone will reboot. When the phone reboot done, press ENTER one more time and the panel will be closed.

      7. Unplug the phone, turn off the power. When the phone turns off, press and hold the volumn-, then press the power button to turn on the phone. The phone will show a list of Chinese text. Navigating the list by pressing volumn + / – button. trying to find TELLEY ROM and press Power button to select, then select ROOT. The rooting will run for a while. When the phone shakes one time, the rooting is done. Exiting this rooting function by select the last item in the list. The phone will reboot automatically.

      8. Checking your Super User

      I did not root this phone yet, but many people have been success. Trying to asking more people from xda-developer forum before following my translation.

  2. Hey Abraham,
    I’m from Mexico and I wanted to contact you because I have the need to root my hisense U950. I deleted some photographs by mistake and I need to recover them.
    How can I get in touch with you?

    Regards!

Leave a Reply

